Fluffy Almond Flour Pancakes

I’ve been craving pancakes a lot lately, and I’ve come to realize that Ireland just does not cut it in the pancake department. The closest thing to a pancake here is a cross between a crepe and chewy leather. Not the thick, tangy buttermilk ones I love in the States. I’ve had to turn to making them myself, and they always come out how I want them. Since my stomach does not do well with grains I like making these almond flour ones instead. They’re fluffy, light and buttery despite containing no dairy.

IMG_3876_2

IMG_3882

Serves 1, makes 6 small pancakes (hungry Rachel)

1/2 cup almond flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
pinch salt
1 egg
2 tablespoons coconut milk (I used coconut cream and thinned it with lemon juice/water)
Optional add-ins: cinnamon, honey, lemon zest/juice, vanilla

// Combine almond flour, baking soda, salt in a bowl.
In a separate bowl combine egg, coconut milk and and “add-ins.”
Add wet to dry and mix until just combined. Set mixture aside.
Preheat pan on medium heat. The pan is ready if the batter has a slight “sizzle” when hitting the pan. Put heaping tablespoon sized drops of batter and cook until bubbles form all over the pancake, then flip. Cook on that side for another minute.

Then stack them up and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

