Pumpkin, Scallion and Bacon Fat Biscuits (grain, dairy, nut, sugar-free)

You’d think I was born in the South and not in Northern Minnesota with how much I LOVE a good biscuit. Buttery, crumbly, moist. Ahhhh I’m drooling just thinking about one slathered in some rich butter, because obviously the pound of butter in one single biscuit isn’t enough.

Ever since I stopped eating grains I’ve been trying to find a recipe that comes as close as possible to the biscuits my southern grandma used to make– if I had one… My non-paleo parents even approved, but I think they just liked the use of pure bacon fat in the recipe, but in my defense they are very moist which is sometimes hard to accomplish when using coconut flour alone. That’s a win for me!

These little biscuits really satisfy my craving, and all though you can never really create a “true biscuit” using coconut flour, the bacon fat saves the day. You can add bacon to the actual biscuits, but in all honesty, I ate the bacon before they made it to the batter… oops!! The bacon would add a great crunch to them if you can resist and not eat the bacon before baking.

But without further ado, here they are!

IMG_3138

Recipe adapted from The Urban Poser
1/2 cup coconut flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup fat, melted (I use 1/4 bacon fat and 1/4 coconut oil, but you can use butter, ghee, etc.)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
3 eggs
1/4 cup scallions

Optional add-ins: bacon, cheese, apple, etc.

Preheat oven to 350 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat mat.
Combine the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt) in a large bowl and whisk.
Combine the wet ingredients (melted fat, vinegar, pumpkin) in a smaller bowl and whisk until completely combined.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until smooth.
Add the eggs, one by one, and mix well after each egg.
Add the scallions/any add-ins you’d like, and mix until evenly distributed.
Drop heaping tablespoons onto the baking sheet and bake for 14-17 minutes or until tops are slightly golden (be careful not to over bake or they will dry out).
Let cool and enjoy them with your grandma, whom you wish was Southern šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

