“Oatmeal”

Up until 6 months ago I ate oatmeal every single day for 4 years. Then came the day when I realized that maybe grains aren’t something I should be eating (that’s a whole other post). So I started doing some research and found a delicious recipe for a grain-free and nut-free “oatmeal.” If you don’t love the taste of coconut, you might not like this version of paleo oatmeal, but I love the taste of coconut and frequently eat plain coconut flakes for a quick snack.

This “oatmeal” is full of healthy fat, and if you pair it with an apple or some kind of fruit, you have the perfect filling breakfast. It’s been my go-to breakfast ever since I had to give up oatmeal for good.

Give it a try!

oatmeal

1 cup coconut milk (or any milk of choice or water)
3 tablespoons coconut flour
1 egg (1/2 cup applesauce, 1 small mashed banana)
optional add-ins: cinnamon, coconut flakes, berries, vanilla, etc.

Combine milk and coconut flour in small saucepan over medium heat and whisk until lumps are gone.
Bring to a boil for 3 minutes.
Remove from heat and whisk in egg until fully cooked and “oatmeal” consistency.
Add back to heat if not thick enough.
Pour into bowl and add any toppings you like.

Toodles!

2 comments

  1. dtkb29 · January 16, 2015

    When I first started Paleo, the very first recipe I tried was a paleo oatmeal. You combine chia seeds, ground flax seeds, shredded coconut, and cinnamon. Then mix it with hot water, let it sit for five minutes so the chia seeds absorb the water then serve with whatever toppings! I use walnuts and raisins. I’ve had this oatmeal a ton of times plus it has a whackload of healthy fats and your daily fiber needs. Let me know if you want the actual recipe!

    Like

    • rachthomps7 · January 17, 2015

      Thanks for reading my post!
      That’s actually my other go-to breakfast “oatmeal.” So filling and delicious, especially topped with some diced, cooked apples. Yum!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

